Louboutin in Toronto

I’ve been very excited about this one for awhile: a Christian Louboutin exhibit in Toronto.

Some of you may not understand how completely giddy I feel about this but it was a fashion exhibit at a museum that first turned fashion into something I appreciated into something that I became completely INSANE for. It was a YSL exhibit in Montreal that started (by complete chance) on the day Yves Saint Laurent passed away. I went for the first time with a friend and it was the first time that I realized fashion was ART. Good fashion, fashion like I saw was unbelievable: creative, beautiful and for the first time I really saw the difference between couture and everything else. There is no question (except for maybe the recent controversy over the prices of the revamped YSL collection) that it has that extra something that makes it more than just a piece of clothing and therefore worth much, much more. I visited the YSL exhibit several times revelling in seeing how his creative process worked and seeing the sketch for a dress and the way it developed into a masterpiece. I will never forget how amazing and transformed I felt walking out of there the first time – I didn’t want to leave. I had a new perspective on life. There was so much potential to make every day beautiful and make people happy through what we wore.

Thus, my excitement to be able to see the pieces of art that are Christian Louboutin shoes. The exhibit is running at the Toronto Design Exchange from June 21st to September 15th. But, even more exciting, if you’re in Toronto next Friday (June 21st) and go to Holt Renfrew, you can meet the man in person. AND if you have a spare several hundred to a grand lying around, you can get him to sign the sole of your shoe (which you will never wear – so you will have to display it like art). It should be a pretty great experience. I won’t be able to make it to the Holt Renfrew appearance so this post is my plea to those of you in the area to check it out and report back to me.

I WILL be making it to the show though – hopefully at some point in the end of June/beginning of July (as long as Via Rail averts a strike) & I can’t wait to share my experience with all of you! CAN’T WAIT!

Wishing you the best of everything,

Champagne Moods

P.S. If you have some time, here is a Net-a-Porter interview with Louboutin on the occasion of the exhibit opening at the V&A in London:

One thought on “Louboutin in Toronto

Leave a Reply

