Weekly Food Challenge – St. Patrick’s Day

 

St. Patrick’s Day is this weekend and I’m excited to see what my city gets up to for the holiday. The students at my university party hard and where I live is student central – I can only imagine the shenanigans and can’t wait to watch them. I normally refrain from taking part in St. Patrick’s Day – I own no green (it’s not my colour) but my closet has been growing with some deep emeralds and light mint colours that will do well.

For today’s weekly food challenge, I am going with dishes that I will be tackling for this weekend. (I don’t want to do something I’ve already cooked because it was special for my father’s birthday and I don’t want to run the risk of my parents reading this before he opens the parcel I shipped him!) Anyways, there are so many ways to be creative for St. Patrick’s Day. You can go for a full Irish meal (that used to be the best part of residence in undergrad – the best meal of the year was for St. Patrick’s Day) or just fun touches to your meals throughout the day.

Here are a few ideas:

An ombre cake, just make three different sponges and add different amounts of food colouring to each for the different intensities of green.
Green pancakes are a super fun idea for breakfast and bring back memories of brunch before the St. Patrick’s Day parade.
For a healthy shamrock breakfast, try slices of green pepper with egg white and some cheese
You could also go for your normal green juice or kale smoothie but add some fruit loops to the straw
For a party, you could also try pot of gold cake pops

What are your St. Patrick’s Day food choices?

Have a wonderful (and safe) St. Patrick’s Day.

Wishing you the best of everything,

Champagne Moods

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Weekly Food Challenge – St. Patrick’s Day

Leave a Reply

