Winter blossoms (In the midst of winter…an invincible summer – Camus)

flowers different colours

This winter I’ve been in a nonstop funk that I can’t seem to shake off – and it has me praying for spring. The recent cold, icy weather has not done anything to change my need for seasonal change with many a morning spent wishing I had ice skates instead of boots when walking to school and many nights spent loving (but secretly hating) all the pictures of my beloved palm trees that everyone seems to be posting on instagram. One aspect that has been helping and giving me hope is the flowers I’ve recently been seeing in stores in preparation for spring. All the beautiful colours and fragrant, gorgeous flowers make me smile and give a promise of spring & summer (i.e days with hot weather, sunny skies, pretty shoes and dresses, blossoms, leaving the house without sliding around on sidewalks). I bought some blue hyacinths this past weekend and have loved watching them slowly bloom, not knowing that it’s the middle of February and they should’t be growing, let alone surviving. But somehow, every morning the blooms are making progress and giving me hope when looking past them to the windows frozen shut. So, to quote Albert Camus (out of context and with my addition in italics), thanks to the flowers blossoming at home when they should still be a mere spring dream during a cold February:

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer (or, for me, spring). … And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.”

There is so much to learn from nature.

blue and white hydrangeas

white hydrangeas

My hyacinth plant:

hyacinth 1

hyacinth 2Wishing you spring and the best of everything,

Champagne Moods

Leave a Reply

