Celebrate

Thursday I had a series of really great news delivered to me in quick succession. It all felt amazing and it was all very celebration worthy. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get everything I wanted for the celebration. Therefore, I decided to delay until Sunday when I could get all my celebratory ingredients and put everything together.

Ever since I read the cookbook “A Platter of Figs and Other Recipes” by David Tanis, and other works by Chez Panisse alumns, I have really warmed to the idea of having the simplest ingredients prepared in the simplest way for the utmost flavour. I tried to enact that with simple fruit prepared to be eaten as is without other ingredients that might overcomplicate or even mask their flavours.

https://i2.wp.com/1.bp.blogspot.com/_nm0ZwIuHvO0/S7YkCJy4OnI/AAAAAAAAC7A/IYUrY9UTSXU/s400/platteroffigs.jpg

It was a beautiful Sunday brunch for one.

It started with a very early morning trip to the bakery to get my weekly treat
It started with a very early morning trip to the bakery to get my weekly treat

Pan chancho closeup

Pan chancho eaten

then I prepared some freshly squeezed tangerine juice
then I prepared some freshly squeezed tangerine juice
Then I started preparing some pomegranates - this one was a goldmine!
Then I started preparing some pomegranates – this one was a goldmine!

pomegranate 2

pomegranate 3

If you’re not sure how to get the pomegranate seeds properly, there is a great post on it by LA in Bloom here.

blackberries

And, finally, some Canadian bubbly…

bubbly

The celebrations will hopefully continue into the week.

Wishing you the best of everything,

Champagne Moods

2 thoughts on “Celebrate

Leave a Reply

