A Matte Finish

They say that in hard times, women tend to focus on smaller purchases (known as a lipstick index – cosmetic sales go up as the economy goes down). After a long recession, we should perhaps call it a manicure index: people are completely enchanted by different manicure looks. Nail creativity is at an all time high, there is even a nail bar at most Sephoras teaching people how to tackle trickier manicure projects. Most of these are too difficult for me and my unsteady hands (not to mention tiny nails). Thus, I am interested in easier manicure trends.As such, my interest in matte nail colours was peaked after a picture on pinterest.

The original matte look that peaked my interest

Unfortunately, no one around me had heard of it and I couldn’t find a matte colour or top coat anywhere. Thankfully, during my recent trip to Montreal, I came across a combo set of top colours: one provided a glossy finish and the other one, a matte finish. Obviously, I scooped it up. I think that a matte look can be a nice modern change from a glossy coat.

Here is my first attempt:

The original shiny nail (Essie Aruba Blue)

 

Using the matte top coat (pardon the bad painting job)

 

Matte top coat with glossy tip

 

Matte vs Shiny

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

