My “trimmings” thanksgiving

As a vegan and someone who lives in rez, Thanksgiving requires a bit of creativity. This year, that meant focusing on the trimmings (or the fixings). I have prepared everything early (which is what you have to do when your only appliances are a 6 slice countertop oven and a 4 cup rice cooker). Here are the details! Happy Thanksgiving!

First, roasted smashed potatoes:

(NOTE: “smashed” because they are more chunks than the smoother “mashed”)

Quartered baby red potatoes with herbs, olive oil, salt, pepper, and mustard
Roasted - after 40 min in the oven

I will admit that at this point they were SO good that I debated just finishing them all and not even bothering smashing them.  But I decided that I had to stick with my recipe!

The final product: roasted smashed potatoes!

Second, fresh cranberry sauce:

Fresh raw asparagus and cranberries - I loved the colours. I don't see why people wouldn't fall in love with pure veggies!
Letting them cook with only apple butter as a sweetener and thickener.
My homemade cranberry sauce.

Then, the roasted asparagus. 

One bunch of gorgeous raw asparagus.
After 30 minutes of roasting.
Soft enough that the roasting gave flavour, but it was still crunchy.

The other veggies:

Boiled brussel sprouts - My favourite!
Roasted cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, and celery

To steal Lidia’s expression: Tutti a tavola a mangiare!

Happy Thanksgiving! We all have so much to be thankful for. I know I was very thankful for my beautiful fresh fruits and vegetables and my ability to enjoy them.

2 thoughts on “My “trimmings” thanksgiving

  1. Beautiful & tasty looking fixings, & the cranberry sauce looks divine. Wish mine would turn out like that!

    Happy Thanksgiving.
    Eleanor

    Like

  2. Impressive collection des legumes. In our vegan bistro here in Sud of France we do not break the pommes in order for better presentation. What about dessert?
    Aussi commes-vous j’adore champagne!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

